Omega Seamaster - One of My Favorite Watch!

I was introduced to the Seamaster by James Bond. It was Daniel Craig as the super spy wearing the Seamaster 300m though I can't remember which film it was.

 

I just thought to myself this is a super spy constantly wearing a tux/suit and yet he wears that dive watch. A guy that needs to always be prepared to run, jump, fight, swam during his every day life wear this watch. Without a doubt, that lends credential to the robustness of it.

 

But what's more endearing is how the supposedly very robust sports watch can look so dapper on the 007! While the Rolex Submariner is the gold standard in dive watches, the Seamaster is not too shabby either. It has a more modern look on it versus the old-school (but still beautiful) Subs.

 

History of Omega Seamaster

The Seamaster was first introduced in the 1948 during the height of the dive watch era. It was also during that time the watchmakers were rushing to design their own "waterproof" watch that can also be used underwater by divers. 

 

From there, Omega keep on building their Seamaster watches. To this date, the model is the longest running watch model in the brand.

 

The first Bond movie that stars the Seamaster was the GoldenEye in 1995 where Pierce Brosnan played James Bond. It was the Seamaster Professional Diver 300M Quartz that he wore in the movie. From then on, the watch was featured in 9 other Bond movies till the last movie, Spectre.

The Full Seamaster Line Up

There are actually 7 different line ups in the Seamaster. Below are the line ups (taken from Omegawatches.com):

  1. Seamaster 300 m
  2. Planet Ocean 600 m
  3. Aqua Terra 150 m
  4. Railmaster
  5. Diver 300 m
  6. Bullhead
  7. Ploprof 1200 m

Among these, the Aqua Terra is the one that I like the most because of the very beautiful pattern on the dial. I also don't prefer the manual helium escape valve on the Planet Ocean and Diver 300 because 1) it breaks the symmetry of the watch, 2) I don't dive & 3) even if I'm going to dive, I definitely won't wear my thousand bucks Omega!

 

But that's just me. Which one of the Seamaster do you prefer? Comment on it below and let's start the discussion. Cheers!

Write a comment

Comments: 0